From street art to theatre, we regularly bring new cultural opportunities and experiences to performers and audiences throughout Jordan. Over the years, we have supported and participated in a wide range of arts projects, including international collaborations, showcases and concerts. Read on to find out more about our cross-cultural work in the arts. 

Made By Many - Creative Co-working Hubs

The programme has been created following a regional pilot in 2012/13 and a review of the learning from that pilot with the Ford Foundation. The programme aims at seeking out creative practitioners and cultural pioneers who are exploring the frontiers between culture, enterprise, social development and technology and are specifically involved or interested in the creation of co-working and collaboration spaces. The programme connected them to experiences, opportunities and expertise from the UK and Europe within their own communities. Eleven emergent creative practitioners and innovators from Jordan participated in this regional programme. 

‘Made by Many’ seeks to:

  • Identify and support emerging creative practitioners and cultural pioneers who are exploring the frontiers between culture, enterprise, social development and technology and are specifically involved or interested in the creation of co-working and collaboration spaces.
  • Establish and Develop Creative Hubs as spaces, networks and collaborations for creative and cultural innovators working to support community development.  This will be reflected both in the shape and content of the offer and also in the selection criteria and therefore profile of participants.
  • Create a network of Creative Hubs in the region – and connect it with practice and policy-makers from the Middle East and the UK.  and connect it with existing groups of creative entrepreneurs, cultural innovators and policy-makers from the Middle East and the UK.
  • Raise awareness of key issues affecting the cultural sector, and stimulate critical thought and new sustainable practises and projects.
  • Strengthen the influence and position of the cultural sector cross-sectorally and regionally as a key social agent.

UK Contemporary Dance Festival

We aim at the British Council to provide opportunities for audiences in Jordan to experience the culture and creativity of the UK and vice versa, therefore, we support presenting the best of UK contemporary dance in Jordan. We also strongly believe in promoting institutional collaboration and enhancing the capacity of local dance festivals to host more international work. The British Council announces each year a Call for Proposals targeted at Contemporary Dance Festivals in Jordan with the aim of supporting them to host UK work as part of their festival programme.

In collaboration with the 7th annual Amman Contemporary Dance Festival in April 2015, the British Council presented this year an exhilarating performance by Aakash Odedra Ltd Company. “Rising” is the successful debut production of Aakash Odedra Company. It featured four works performed by Aakash, exploring different processes and aesthetics to create a new personal language.

BalletBoyz

BalletBoyz is an internationally acclaimed contemporary dance company. In April 2012, the British Council invited the UK-based dancers to give a special performance of their work The Talent in Amman. 

This was the result of our collaboration with the 4th annual Amman Contemporary Dance Festival, organised by the King Hussein Foundation’s National Center for Culture and Arts (NCCA). In addition to commissioning the performance, we also arranged for the award-winning stars of BalletBoyz to run a workshop for young Jordanian dancers. 

Candoco Dance Company

In collaboration with the 5th annual Amman Contemporary Dance Festival in April 2013, the British Council presented two exhilarating performances by Candoco Dance Company. A leading contemporary dance company of disabled and non-disabled dancers, Candoco showcased its productions Set and Reset/Reset and Looking Back to an audience at Al-Hussein Cultural Center in Amman. 

Forward Motion

Combining a workshop and screening, Forward Motion was a cross-cultural project introducing new filming methods to Jordanian filmmakers and choreographers. 

In collaboration with the Zakharef in Motion Dance Festival and SAE Institute, the British Council invited British-Spanish artistic filmmaker Isabel Rocamora to deliver a workshop at SAE Amman in July 2012. Participants worked under Isabel’s supervision to produce their own films, gaining new skills in filming dance and motion in the process.

Wired Aerial Theatre 

The British Council helped organise and support the residency programme of the British bungee-assisted dance company Wired Aerial Theatre in spring 2013. In collaboration with the Zakharef in Motion Dance Festival, we gave a number of young Jordanian dancers the opportunity to take part in the residency and showcase their talents alongside Wired during the opening of the festival. Jordanian audiences were also treated to a performance of the critically acclaimed Stuffed by Wired at Al-Hussein Cultural Center in Amman. 

The Animals and Children Took to the Streets 

1927 is an award-winning UK theatre company. In 2011, in collaboration with Al Balad Theater and Al-Hussein Culture Center, the British Council organised two evening performances and a matinee performance of the 1927 production The Animals and Children Took to the Streets exclusively for schools. This was part of our campaign to expose younger generations to the UK’s finest and most innovative theatre work. Included in the British Council’s Edinburgh Showcase 2011, the show combined live music, performance and storytelling with film and animation, and was well received all over the world.

 “Amazing and very artistic. It was one of those magical theatre experiences. I personally have never seen this genre of theatre – and I think more of it needs to be available to people in Jordan.”

Dana Shalabi, audience member at The Animals and Children Took to the Streets

The Vanishing Horizon

In collaboration with the Aat Festival celebrating International Women’s Day, the British Council was proud to present a performance of The Vanishing Horizon by the UK theatre company Idle Motion in Jordan in March 2012. A stunning piece of devised physical theatre, the production was one of the highlights of the British Council’s Edinburgh Showcase 2011. 

Road to Roots

In summer 2012, the British Council brought together UK and Jordanian musicians in an innovative cross-cultural project celebrating musical diversity. Road to Roots sought to explore cultural heritages, enrich the musical knowledge of performers and audiences, and create long-term future partnerships between musicians from very different musical backgrounds.

Road to Roots saw three UK musicians join Jordanian musicians from the Rum Group, a musical collective led by Tareq Al Nasser. Featuring joint working sessions and rehearsals, the project culminated in a concert in June 2012. Held in the British Council car park, the Mawqef concert was attended by approximately 1,000 people. 

UK Film Week

With the aim of bringing the best of UK film to Jordan, the British Council collaborated with The Royal Film Commission and the Rainbow Art House Theater in March 2013 to organise a UK Film Week. We presented four recent British films based on popular English language books: Great Expectations, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre and My Week with Marilyn. 

Outer Space 

A British Council graffiti art project, Outer Space, provided a group of 12 young Jordanian graffiti artists with an amazing opportunity to explore and express their creativity and imagination.

Led by acclaimed UK graffiti artist Stik, the project took place in the community of Jabal Al Qala’a in November 2012, in partnership with artist residency programme An Urban Reflection and the Creative Jordan: Platform for Visionary Ideas Festival.

Via a series of collaborative workshops, Stik encouraged the participating artists to learn from each other, and helped them to research, design and execute their artwork. The young Jordanian street artists developed their graffiti skills, while exploring different themes related to self-expression, identity, freedom, their connection with society and visions of the future. 

After two weeks, over 20 works of art were displayed on the walls and store shutters around Jabal Al Qala’a as part of a special street arts exhibition. Find out more about the Outer Space project on the British Council's blog.

يقدم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني الفرص والخبرات الثقافية الجديدة للفنانين والجمهور في جميع أنحاء الأردن، بدءاً من فن الشارع وحتى المسرح. فعلى مدار سنوات دعمنا وشاركنا في مجموعة كبيرة من المشاريع الفنية، والتي تضمنت مشاريع للتعاون الدولي والعروض والحفلات. تابع القراءة لمعرفة المزيد عن عملنا الثقافي المتبادل في مجال الفنون. 

"صنع من قبل الكثيرين" - مراكز العمل الإبداعية المشتركة

تم إطلاق هذا البرنامج بعد تجربة إقليمية في عام 2013/2012 واستعراض التعلم من تلك التجربة مع مؤسسة فورد. يهدف البرنامج لجذب رواد الثقافة الذي يستكشفون الحدود بين الثقافة والشراكة والتطوير الاجتماعي والتكنولوجيا المشاركة أو المهتمة بشكل خاص بخلق مساحات للتعاون في العمل والتنسيق. فقد قام البرنامج بربطهم مع خبرات وفرص وتجارب من المملكة المتحدة وأوروبا ضمن مجتمعاتهم، وشارك أحد عشر مبتكر ناشئ من الأردن في هذا البرنامج الإقليمي. 

يسعى برنامج "صنع من قبل الكثيرين" إلى:

  • تحديد ودعم رواد الثقافة المبدعين الذين يكتشفون الحدود بين الثقافة والشراكة والتطوير الاجتماعي والتكنولوجيا، وهم مشاركون أو مهتمون بشكل خاص بإنشاء مساحات للتشارك والتنسيق في العمل. 
  • إنشاء وتطوير محاور إبداعية كالمساحات والشبكات والتنسيقات لمبتكري الإبداع والثقافة الذين يعملون لدعم تطوير المجتمع. سينعكس هذا على كل من شكل ومحتوى العرض بالإضافة إلى معايير الاختيار وبالتالي في ملفات المشاركين. 
  • إنشاء شبكة من محاور إبداعية في المنطقة وربطها بالممارسة وصناعة السياسات من الشرق الأوسط والمملكة المتحدة، بالإضافة إلى المجموعات القائمة لرياديي الإبداع والمبتكرين الثقافيين وصانعي السياسات من الشرق الأوسط والمملكة المتحدة.
  • رفع الوعي بالمسائل الأساسية التي تؤثر على قطاع الثقافة ومحاكاة التفكير الناقد والممارسات والمشاريع المستدامة الجديدة.
  • تقوية تأثير وموقع القطاع الثقافي عبر القطاعات والإقليم كعامل اجتماعي رئيسي.

الرقص المعاصر البريطاني في الأردن

يسعى المجلس الثقافي البريطاني إلى تقديم فرص للجماهير في الأردن لدعم تجربة الثقافة والإبداع البريطاني والعكس صحيح. لذا فإننا ندعم تقديم أفضل رقص معاصر من بريطانيا للأردن. ونؤمن بشدة بتعزيز التعاون المؤسسي وقدرة مهرجانات الرقص المحلية لاستضافة المزيد من الأعمال العالمية. ويعلن المجلس الثقافي البريطاني كل سنة طلبات تقديم موجهة لمهرجانات الرقص المعاصرفي الأردن وذلك بهدف دعمها لاستضافة أعمال بريطانية كجزء من برنامج المهرجان الخاص بها. 

بالتعاون مع مهرجان الرقص المعاصر السابع في عمان في نيسان 2015، قدم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني هذه السنة أداءً مبهجاً من قبل شركة آكاش أوديدرا. كان "الصعود" هو الإنتاج الأول الناجح للشركة، حيث تجسد في أربعة أعمال أداها آكاش أوديدرا تستكشف جماليات مختلفة لخلق لغة جسد جديدة.

باليه بويز

فرقة "باليه بويز" هي فرقة رائدة عالمياً في مجال الرقص الحي المعاصر. وقد دعا المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في نيسان 2012 راقصي الفرقة لتقديم عرض "الموهبة" في عمان. 

ويأتي ذلك نتيجة لتعاوننا مع مهرجان عمان السنوي للرقص المعاصر في دورته الرابعة، والذي نظمه المركز الوطني للثقافة والفنون الأدائية ـ مؤسسة الملك الحسين. وبالإضافة إلى رعاية عرض الأداء، فقد نظم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني ورش عمل للراقصين الأردنيين الناشئين بإدارة نجوم فرقة "باليه بويز" الحاصلين على جوائز. 

فرقة "Candoco" للرقص 

بالتعاون مع مهرجان عمان السنوي للرقص المعاصر 2013، قدم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني اثنين من العروض الممتعة لفرقة "Candoco" الرائدة في الرقص المعاصر والتي تضم راقصين من ذوي الإعاقات، حيث قدمت الفرقة للجمهور عرضي " Set and Reset/Reset" و"Looking Back” في مركز الحسين الثقافي في عمان. 

فوروارد موشن

عرض "فوروارد موشن" هو مشروع ثقافي متبادل قدم أساليب التصوير السينمائي الحديثة لصناع الأفلام ومصممي الرقص الأردنيين وجمع بين العروض وورش العمل. 

وقد دعا المجلس الثقافي البريطاني المخرجة السينمائية البريطانية - الإسبانية إيزابيل روكامورا، لإدارة ورشة عمل في كلية فنون الإعلام “SAE” في عمان في تموز 2012، وذلك بالتعاون مع مهرجان زخارف حركية للرقص المعاصر وكلية فنون الإعلام. وعمل المشاركون تحت إشراف روكامورا على إنتاج أفلامهم الخاصة واكتساب مهارات جديدة في تصوير الرقص والحركة. 

مسرح الرقص الهوائي 

ساعد المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في تنظيم ودعم برنامج الإقامة لفرقة الرقص الهوائي البريطانية "مسرح الرقص الهوائي" في ربيع 2013. وأتحنا الفرصة لعدد من الراقصين الأردنيين الشباب بالتعاون مع مهرجان زخارف حركية للرقص المعاصر لعرض مواهبهم خلال افتتاح المهرجان. وقد شاهد الجمهور الأردني في مركز الحسين الثقافي في عمان عرض "Stuffed" الذي نال استحسان النقاد. 

الحيوانات والأطفال يخرجون إلى الشوارع 

"1927" هي فرقة مسرحية من المملكة المتحدة حاصلة على العديد من الجوائز. وقد نظم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني عام 2011 بالتعاون مع مسرح البلد ومركز الحسين الثقافي عرضين صباحيين وعرضاً مسائياً لمسرحية "الحيوانات والأطفال يخرجون إلى الشوارع" للفرقة المسرحية "1927" بشكل حصري للمدارس. وكان ذلك جزءاَ من حملتنا لتعريف الأجيال الناشئة بأفضل الأعمال المسرحية البريطانية وأكثرها ابتكاراً. ويمزج العرض الموسيقى الحية والأداء المسرحي والقصص بالأفلام والرسوم المتحركة. وقد تم اختياره ضمن عروض المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في مهرجان إدنبرة 2011، ونال استحسان الجمهور في جميع أنحاء العالم. 

"العرض مذهل ومتميز على الصعيد الفني، ويعد واحداً من أكثر التجارب الرائعة في المسرح، فعلى الصعيد الشخصي لم أشاهد هذا النوع المسرحي من قبل، وأعتقد أن الجمهور في الأردن بحاجة إلى المزيد من هذه العروض". 

دانا شلبي، مشاهدة لعرض "الحيوانات والأطفال يخرجون إلى الشوارع".

الأفق المتلاشي 

قدم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني مسرحية "الأفق المتلاشي" للفرقة المسرحية البريطانية "آيدل موشن" في الأردن في آذار 2012، وذلك بالتعاون مع مهرجان آت ليوم المرأة العالمي، إذ تعد المسرحية عملاً مذهلاً من أعمال المسرح الجسدي، وقد عُرضت ضمن عروض المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في مهرجان إدنبرة 2011. 

رود تو رووتس "Road to Roots"  

جمع المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في صيف 2012 بين موسيقيين من الأردن والمملكة المتحدة في مشروع ثقافي مبتكر يحتفي بالتنوع الموسيقي. وسعى العرض الموسيقي "رود تو رووتس" إلى استكشاف التراث الثقافي وإثراء المعرفة الموسيقية للفنانين والجمهور، وخلق شراكات مستقبلية بين الموسيقيين من خلفيات موسيقية مختلفة. 

وشهد عرض "رود تو رووتس" انضمام ثلاثة موسيقيين من المملكة المتحدة إلى موسيقيين أردنيين من مجموعة رم – وهي مجموعة موسيقية مستقلة بقيادة طارق الناصر. وقد تضمن المشروع جلسات عمل مشتركة وبروفات. وتُوج هذا التعاون بحفل أقيم في حزيران 2012 في موقف السيارات الخاص بالمجلس الثقافي البريطاني. وحضر حفل "موقف موسيقي" حوالي ألف شخص. 

مهرجان الفيلم البريطاني

نظم المجلس الثقافي البريطاني بالتعاون مع الهيئة الملكية للأفلام ومسرح الرينبو في آذار 2013 أسبوع الفيلم البريطاني بهدف تقديم أفضل أفلام المملكة المتحدة إلى الأردن. وقد قدمنا أربعة أفلام بريطانية مقتبسة عن روايات إنجليزية شهيرة مثل آمال عظيمة، ومرتفعات وذرينغ، وجين آير، وأسبوعي مع مارلين. 

مساحات حرة 

قدم المشروع الفني للمجلس الثقافي البريطاني "مساحات حرة" فرصة رائعة لمجموعة من 12 من فناني الجرافيتي الأردنيين الشباب، لاستكشاف والتعبير عن قدراتهم الإبداعية وخيالهم. 

وقد بدأ المشروع في جبل القلعة في تشرين ثاني 2012 بقيادة فنان الجرافيتي البريطاني الشهير، ستيك، وذلك بالتعاون مع برنامج " مبادرة انعكاس ومهرجان أردن مبدع: مساحة لأفكار ذات رؤية". 

وعبر سلسلة من ورش العمل التعاونية، شجع ستيك الفنانين المشاركين على التعلم من بعضهم البعض، وساعدهم في مجال البحث والتصميم وفي تنفيذ أعمالهم الفنية. وقد طور فنانو الشارع الأردنيون مهاراتهم في فن الجرافيتي عبر استكشاف مواضيع مختلفة تتعلق بالتعبير عن الذات والهوية والحرية وعلاقتهم مع المجتمع ورؤيتهم المستقبلية. 

وبعد أسبوعين، تم عرض أكثر من 20 عملاً فنياً على الجدران وواجهات المحلات في محيط جبل القلعة كجزء من معرض خاص لفنون الشارع، اعرف المزيد عن مشروع "مساحات حرة" على مدونتنا.