Newton Fund

The Newton Fund builds research and innovation partnerships with 17 active partner countries to support their economic development and social welfare, and to develop their research and innovation capacity for long-term sustainable growth. It has a total UK Government investment of £735 million up until 2021, with matched resources from the partner countries. 

The Newton Fund is managed by the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS), and delivered through 7 UK delivery partners, which includes UK Research and Innovation (comprising the 7 research councils and Innovate UK), the UK Academies, the British Council and the Met Office. 

For further information visit the Newton Fund website (www.newtonfund.ac.uk) and follow via Twitter: @NewtonFund

Newton-Khalidi Fund

The Newton Fund in Jordan is called the Newton-Khalidi Fund to celebrate the Jordanian scientist Dr Usama al-Khalidi, a biochemist who dedicated his life to teaching generations of scientists and medical students across the Arab world. He believed that only through the promotion of science and technology would the countries of the Arab world have a chance for sustainable development.

Our work

The British Council and the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, singed a collaboration Agreement for Newton-Khalidi Fund (Researcher Links programme) on Sunday 23 September 2018. The Newton-Khalidi Fund in Jordan marks a step-change in the bilateral science relationship and will provide a platform to develop new knowledge partnerships in science, technology and innovation. It will enable UK and Jordanian scientists to work together to achieve greater outcomes for both countries and for people around the world. 

The Newton Khalid Fund - Researcher Links Workshops aims to bring together early-career researchers from the UK and Jordan to allow them to make international connections that can improve the quality of their research.

The “Researcher Links Workshops” will be focusing on building links for future collaboration and enhancing the researchers’ career opportunities, support international development and research, contribute to capacity building of early career researchers and establish new and strengthen existing research links.

PRIORITY AREAS FOR THE “RESEARCHER LINKS WORKSHOPS” IN JORDAN ARE:

  1. Energy
  2. Water management
  3. Agri-tech and food security
  4. Cultural heritage 
  5. Bio-technology and bio-security 
  6. Nanotechnology
  • Proposals can have an educational research development element for any of the above themes
  • The interface with health in themes 5 & 6 can be considered.

The Call for Proposals – which includes several participating countries, was launched on 10 June 2019.

Our activities:

  • We held the first info session for this year on 19 February 2019
  • Second info session will be held on 18 June 2019 at Hyatt Amman – 09:30 and will be delivered by UUKi (Universities UK International) for the Academics, Researchers and Scientific Research Organisations.

Universities UK International (UUKi) is offering match-making service to help connect Jordanian universities/researchers to potential UK partners, under the Newton-Khalidi fund. 

If you are looking for a UK partner for “The Researcher Links Workshops” please apply here.

How to Apply:

Please refer to our downloads section for key documents and guidelines.

Apply Now! 

Deadline: 9 August 2019, 16:00 UK time.

If you have any questions, please contact UK-ResearcherLinks@britishcouncil.org. In your email, please specify that you are enquiring about the Newton Fund Researcher Links Workshops call.

For more information please visit our global British Council site.

صندوق نيوتن

 يعمل صندوق نيوتن على بناء شراكات في البحث والابتكار مع سبعة عشر دولة شريكة لدعم التنمية الاقتصادية والرفاه الاجتماعي فيها، ولتطوير قدرتها في مجالي البحث والابتكار ولتحقيق النمو المستدام طويل الأجل. ولدى صندوق نيوتن استثمارات حكومية بريطانية تصل إلى 735 مليون جنيه إسترليني لحد العام 2021، وموارد ملائمة من الدول الشريكة. 

يتم إدارة صندوق نيوتن بواسطة وزارة الأعمال والطاقة والاستراتيجية الصناعية بالمملكة المتحدة، وجرى تنفيذ تلك المشاريع من خلال 7 شركاء في المملكة المتحدة، ويشمل هؤلاء الشركاء: المملكة المتحدة للبحث والإبتكار ( ويضم 7 مجالس أبحاث و المملكة المتحدة للابتكار)،   وأكاديميات موجودة في المملكة المتحدة، والمجلس الثقافي البريطاني، وهيئة Met Office لخدمات الأرصاد الجوية .

صندوق نيوتن-خالدي

 سُمِيَ صندوق نيوتن في الأردن صندوق نيوتن-خالدي احتفاءً بعالم الكيمياء الحيوية الأردني الدكتور أسامة الخالدي، الذي كرس حياته لتدريس أجيال من العلماء وطلاب التخصصات الطبية في الدول العربية. كان الدكتور أسامة الخالدي يعتقد بأنَّ دول المنطقة العربية لن تتمكن من تحقيق التنمية المستدامة إلاَّ عن طريق تطوير العلوم والتكنولوجيا.

عملنا

وقع المجلس الثقافي البريطاني ووزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي يوم  الأحد 23 أيلول 2018 اتفاقية تحالف " لمنح صندوق نيوتن- خالدي"-  برنامج ربط الباحثين في الأردن. صندوق نيوتن-خالدي في الأردن يشكل خطوة نوعية في العلاقات العلمية الثنائية وسيوفر فرصة لتطوير شراكات معرفية جديدة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكاريهدف صندوق نيوتن-خالدي "ورش ربط الباحثين" إلى جمع الباحثين الذين هم في بداية حياتهم المهنية من المملكة المتحدة والأردن لبناء علاقات دولية يمكن أن تحسن من جودة أبحاثهم.

ستُركّز "ورش ربط الباحثين" على بناء روابط لتعاون مستقبلي وتحسين فرص عمل الباحثين، ودعم التنمية العالمية والبحث، والمساهمة في بناء قدرات الباحثين الذين هم في بداية حياتهم المهنية وإنشاء روابط بحث جديدة وتقوية الروابط القائمة. 

المجالات ذات الأولوية في "ورش عمل ربط الباحثين" في الأردن هي:

  1. الطاقة
  2. إدارة المياه
  3. التكنولوجيا/الزراعة والأمن الغذائي
  4. التراث الثقافي
  5. التكنولوجيا الحيوية والأمن الحيوي
  6. تكنولوجيا النانو
  • يمكن ان تحتوي العروض على عامل تطوير الابحاث التعليمية لاي من المجالات المذكورة اعلاه.
  • يمكن ان تحتوي عروض مجالات (التكنولوجيا الحيوية والأمن الحيوي وتكنولوجيا النانو) على علاقة الصحة بهذه المجالات.

تم إطلاق الدعوة لتقديم العروض في 10 حزيران 2019 وتضم العديد من البلدان المشاركة.

أنشطتنا:

  • تم عقد اول ورشة تثقيفية في 19 شباط 2019
  • سيتم  عقد الجلسة  التثقيفية الثانية  في 18 حزيران 2019 في فندق حياة عمان – 09:30 صباحا وسيقوم بتقديمها Universities UK International (UUKi) للأكاديميين، والباحثين ومنظمات البحث العلمي.

"UNIVERSITIES UK INTERNATIONAL - UKKI" ستدعم الجامعات الأردنية و الباحثين الأردنيين بتشبيكهم مع شركاء بريطانيين لغايات التقديم لصندوق نيوتن خالدي.

 اذا كنت تبحث عن شريك للتعاون في ورشات ربط الباحثين" يرجى التقديم هنا.

كيف تقوم بالتقديم:

يرجى الرجوع إلى قسم تنزيل الملفات للحصول على الوثائق الرئيسية والمبادئ التوجيهية.

يرجى التقديم هنا!

خر موعد لتقديم الطلبات  9 آب 2019 ، الساعة الرابعة بتوقيت المملكة المتحدة

إذا كان لديك اي استفسارات يرجى التواصل مع UK-ResearcherLinks@britishcouncil.org. في بريدك الإلكتروني، يرجى تحديد طبيعة استفسارك عن صندوق منح نيوتن- ورش ربط الباحثين.

للمزيد من المعلومات يرجى زيارة موقع المجلس الثقافي البريطاني