Empowering young people

Many young Jordanians want to speak out about the cultural and political issues affecting their lives, but may lack the opportunity or know-how.

That’s not the case with our Young Arab Voices programme, which aims to equip young Jordanians with the skills and confidence to speak up and be heard.

About Young Arab Voices

Partnering with the Anna Lindh Foundation – an organisation tied into the 43 governments of the Union for the Mediterranean – and working in co-operation with the education and civil society sectors, the work of our programme is based on setting up debating clubs and organising debating forums involving diverse groups of young people. Its objectives are:

  • increasing young people’s skills for public debate 
  • providing platforms for youth from diverse backgrounds to meet and exchange views 
  • providing targeted support for young bloggers, enabling them to bridge the gap between virtual and public space.

What we've done so far

Over the last few years, and since we started the implementation of the Young Arab Voices programme in Jordan, the British Council, in collaboration with a group of local institutions conducted a number of training workshops and activities that significantly contributed to empowering the youth with skills that created a huge leap in the world of debating not only locally and regionally, but also globally.

Tens of thousands of young people of all local and educational sectors were trained in Jordan on the concept, forms and basic skills of debating, and on the importance of utilizing the effective democratic and systematic debate to induce a positive change and influence the decision makers through free platforms. We organised thousands of public debates attended by policy makers and academic influential figures, which in turn contributed significantly in raising the level of knowledge and education among 55 thousand young men and women across all governorates. 

By working with our partners in Jordan, we organised more than (400) public debates and a number of challenging and competitive tournaments, locally and regionally, where hundreds of young people were involved. These events contributed in forming a network of local and international relations. The debates included normal forms of debating, in addition to new and innovative styles such as debating in the streets of Jordan. Moreover, we trained school children on the arts of debating in order to prepare them to participate in a national debate competition which was very successful.

This year, the project addressed economic, political and qualitative issues that are highly important locally. The youth awareness of Jordanian issues was enriched, and provided them with skills needed to search for, and gain support. This project will continue this year, working with the same strategic and addressing basic and youth issues, while focusing on the empowerment of the youth with communication skills and gaining support and systematic research to induce the change.

Our partners in the programme include organisations from the public and private sectors and civil society institutions, as well as private and governmental universities and schools.

External links

تمكين الشباب 

يرغب العديد من الشباب الأردني في التحدث عن القضايا الثقافية والسياسية التي تؤثر على حياتهم، ولكنهم قد يفتقرون إلى الفرصة أو الدراية بكيفية القيام بذلك.
 إن الوضع مختلف في برنامجنا "صوت الشباب العربي"، إذ يهدف إلى تزويد الشباب الأردني بالمهارات والثقة للتحدث كي يكون صوتهم مسموعاً. 

نبذة عن برنامج "صوت الشباب العربي"

 يركز برنامجنا على إعداد نوادٍ ومنتديات للمناظرات والمناقشات بمشاركة مجموعات متنوعة من الشباب، وذلك عبر شراكتنا مع مؤسسة "آنا ليند"، وهي مؤسسة تربط بين حكومات بلدان الاتحاد من أجل المتوسط البالغ عددها 43 دولة، وعبر العمل بالتعاون مع قطاعي التعليم والمجتمع المدني. ويهدف البرنامج إلى:  

  • زيادة مهارات الشباب فيما يتعلق بالمناظرات العامة
  • إتاحة منابر للشباب من خلفيات مختلفة للالتقاء وتبادل وجهات النظر
  • توفير دعم موجه للمدونين الشباب وتمكينهم من سد الفجوة القائمة بين العالم الافتراضي والواقع.

ماذا فعلنا حتى الآن؟

خلال السنوات الماضية منذ أن بدأنا تنفيذ برنامج "صوت الشباب العربي" في الأردن، قام المجلس الثقافي البريطاني بالتعاون مع نخبة من المؤسسات المحلية بتنفيذ العديد من التدريبات والفعاليات التي ساهمت بشكل كبير في اكساب الشباب مهارات أثرت بشكل كبير على صدى المشروع، ليس فقط على المجتمع المحلي ولكن امتدت لتصل أصداءه اقليمياً وعالمياً، ليكون بذلك قد حقق نقلة كبيره في عالم المناظرات. 

في الأردن تم تدريب عشرات الألوف من الشباب من كافة القطاعات المحلية والتعليمية على مفهوم المناظرات وأشكالها وأسسها وأهمية استخدام الحوار الفعّال الديمقراطي والممنهج لصنع التغيير الإيجابي والتأثير على أصحاب القرار من خلال توفير منابر حرّة تمثلت بعقد ألوف المناظرات العامّة التي حضرها أصحاب السياسات والشخصيات العلمّية والمؤثرة على مستوى البلد، مما أسهم بشكل كبير في رفع مستوى المعرفة والثقافة لدى أكثر من 55 ألف شاب وفتاه من جميع المحافظات. 

بالعمل مع شركائنا في الأردن قمنا بتنظيم أكثر من 400 مناظرة عامّة، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من فعاليات تحدي وبطولات تنافسية محلياً وإقليمياً شارك فيها مئات الشباب، و قد أسهمت في تشكيل شبكة علاقات محلية ودولية. وتنوعت المناظرات في أشكالها المعروفة بالإضافة الى أساليب مبتكرة كالمناظرات في شوارع الأردن. كما قمنا كخطوة تجريبية بتدريب طلّاب المدارس على فنون المناظرة لإعدادهم للمشاركة في مسابقة مناظرات وطنية وكانت التجربة ناجحة.

ركّز المشروع هذا العام على تناول مواضيع عديدة ذات محاور اقتصادية وسياسية ونوعية تهم الشارع العام وتمس قضايا محلية شائكة، هذا وأثرى ذلك الوعي لدى الشباب بقضايا الأردن وأثر في اكسابهم مهارات البحث وأساليب كسب التأييد. وسيستمر المشروع هذا العام بالعمل ضمن نفس الاستراتيجة متناولاً محاور جذرية وشبابية مرتكزاً في عمله على اكساب الشباب مهارات التواصل، وكسب التأييد والبحث الممنهج لصنع التغيير.  

يضم شركاؤنا في برنامج "صوت الشباب العربي" المؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني بالإضافة الى الجامعات والمدارس الحكومية والخاصة.

روابط خارجية