Celebrating the achievements of alumni in Jordan

When outstanding individuals receive a world-class education in the UK, the effects can last a lifetime. The Alumni Awards shine a light on the impact that alumni of UK higher education institutions are making in their chosen field, and how this was sparked by their studies in the UK.

The British Council has launched the eighth year of a prestigious award celebrating the outstanding achievements of the UK’s international alumni around the world. 

The Study UK Alumni Awards are open to alumni living anywhere outside of the UK. Award winners and finalists are leaders in their fields who have used their experience of studying at a UK university to make a positive contribution to their communities, industries and countries. The Study UK Alumni Awards celebrate and showcase the impact and value of a UK higher education and raise the international profile of UK alumni and their former universities.

The awards are open to alumni currently residing in any country outside the UK, who have either studied in the UK, at an officially recognised provider of UK university degree level study for a minimum of a term or semester or who have been awarded a full UK degree level qualification (or higher), by a UK university through a local institution overseas, within the last 15 years. 

There are four award categories:

• Science and Sustainability Award recognising alumni who have distinguished themselves through their career and achievements in the world of science and sustainability, and who can demonstrate the impact and scale of their achievements in their profession, and beyond. Areas of work could include: Climate action, clean energy, medicine, sustainable cities and communities, engineering, industry and construction. 

• Culture and Creativity Award recognising alumni who have carved a career for themselves in arts and culture. We are looking for individuals who can demonstrate their artistic ingenuity, influence and creativity. Areas of work could include:  Arts, design, media, video, TV, music, bloggers, vloggers, Youtubers and the humanities. 

• Social Action Award recognising alumni who have made an exceptional contribution and commitment to creating positive social change and improving the lives of others. Areas of work could include: Reducing inequality, poverty and hunger. Education and upskilling. Peace and justice.

• Business and Innovation Award recognising alumni who are active in initiating and contributing to innovative or creative new ideas, solutions or business opportunities, that have the potential for growth.  Areas of work could include: Entrepreneurship, business, technology.

Have you studied in the UK and have gone on to achieve exceptional success? If so, apply for one of the Awards! 

What makes a great application? Find out our top tips on the Study UK Alumni Awards website.  

Some of the benefits of winning a prestigious Alumni Award:

  • Raise your international profile through global press and digital coverage
  • Build your professional networks and business connections
  • Win a professional networking visit to the UK
  • Each category winner will receive a prize of 3000 GBP to support their professional development 

Timeline

05 October 2021

Applications officially open  in Jordan                   

29 October 2021

Applications close at 16.00 (BST)

November 2021

Shortlisting of applications  

30 January 2022 

Alumni Awards winners announcement ceremony

March to August  2022

 Global Alumni Awards finalists announced and celebrated via social media

September 2022

Global Alumni Awards announced

Applications for the Study UK Alumni Awards are now closed. 

The finalists and winners of the global Alumni Awards will be announced in 2022 and celebrated in a digital campaign that will raise the profile of their story and success. Award winners have the opportunity to raise their international profile, expand their professional networks, and enhance their careers, through a professional networking visit to the UK (subject to global Covid-19 situation).

Meet this year's shortlisted applicants/finalists

Among stiff competition from a variety of strong applicants, these candidates stood out. Find out what makes their story unique.

collage of 11 alumni awards finalists along with the official logo of the competition
Photo credit © Jordan finalists 2021

Science and Sustainability Award

Derar Abdel-Qader, University of Manchester/ University of Huddersfield

Derar is an Associate Clinical Professor and Consultant Pharmacotherapist (Infectious Diseases). He is an Education Entrepreneur and enthusiastic researcher and speaker in patient safety and infectious diseases. Derar has been a leading COVID-19 pandemic champion nationally and regionally for the last two years. Derar’s work has been instrumental in combating COVID-19 pandemic misinformation, saving thousands of patient lives.

Bushra Zalloom, Birmingham City University

Bushara Zalloom is the first Jordanian architect holding a PhD in the social sustainability of urban landscape, from BCU since 2015. Bushra is the head of Architecture Department and the first female holding this position at Zarqa University. She is using all her capabilities to inspire students and benefit humanity.

Mohanad Odeh, Queen's University Belfast

After earning his Clinical Pharmacy PhD degree from the United Kingdom, Mohanad Odeh established the Pharmacy Management & Pharmaceutical Care Innovation Centre at Hashemite University. As Assistant Professor, he helped also to lunch new pharmacy branches in Jordan. He is the Strategic Consultant for Queen’s University Belfast, and the International Ambassador of the British Pharmacological Society. 

Almoayied Assayed, University of Surrey

Dr. Almoayied Assayed is the Director of Water and Environment Centre at Royal Scientific Society (RSS) of Jordan. He received his PhD from University of Surrey in 2014. As part of his PhD, he had developed innovative model for onsite water reuse and urban food production, which was later commercialized and is now benefiting more than 20,000 people in Jordan.

Culture and Creativity Award

Edelina Joyce Issa, University for the Creative Arts

Edelina is the founder and fashion designer behind 'Edelina Joyce', a Jordanian womenswear brand. Drawing on her British education and experience with renowned brands, including Victoria Beckham Ltd., she devised the Fashion curriculum for Design Institute Amman, where she has lectured and mentored over 200 aspiring local designers since 2017.

Tariq Alrimawi, University of South Wales/ Loughborough University

Tariq Alrimawi is an award-winning director and academic. In 2010, he graduated with a MA in Animation from University of South Wales. In 2014, he completed his PhD from Loughborough University. Tariq established the Animation & Multimedia Department at the University of Petra in 2016.

Safaa Jahameh, University of Bolton

Dr Safaa Jahameh, Assistant Professor at Applied Science Private University, earned a PhD from university of Bolton – UK., 2019, her research are related to visual Islamic design, such as Arabic Calligraphy, Illustrations, Ornamentations, She teaches Islamic art, graphic design, she is a reviewer in Scopus journals.

Social Action Award

Laith Alfalah, King's College London

Laith Alfalah is a psychiatrist dedicated to improving the quality and accessibility of mental health services in the Middle East. He holds a MSc degree in Child and Adolescent Mental Health from King’s College London. Laith focuses on enriching the Arabic mental health content and his work reaches thousands of people.

Leen Al-Jabary, University of Liverpool

Inspired by values from the National health Service and evidence-based knowledge of best dental practices, Dr leen works with non-profit organisation in Jordan to reduce inequality in dental healthcare services for the underserved communities. She focuses on promoting awareness by targeting school children and replicating experiences of successful oral health campaigns run by the NHS.

Business and Innovation Award

Analle Abuammar, University of Southampton/Cardiff Metropolitan University

Analle is a Data Science team lead, who has an experience working with international companies in integrating Artificial Intelligence(AI) in education and Arabic language technologies. With a record of three papers and three patents.

Analle holds a Masters degree in AI from University of Southampton as a Said Foundation scholar.

Noor Abu Jbara, University of Warwick

Industrial Engineer, holds MSc Innovation and Entrepreneurship from the University of Warwick and got Said Foundation scholarship. Noor is the Entrepreneurship and Innovation Supervisor at TheTank by Umniah and the Founder of SHEE. She is Trainer/Mentor for startups and worked as Consultant/Researcher in the Innovation, Entrepreneurship, Women Empowerment and Management Consultation fields.

See also

External links

الاحتفاء بإنجازات خريجي جامعات المملكة المتحدة في الأردن

عندما يتلقى الأفراد المتميزون تعليماً على مستوى عالمي في المملكة المتحدة، فإن أثار ذلك تستمر مدى حياتهم. يُكرّم خريجو مؤسسات التعليم العالي في المملكة المتحدة على الأثر الذي تركوه في مجالهم المختار، وكيف ساهمت دراستهم في المملكة المتحدة في تحقيق إنجازاتهم في هذه المجالات.

وقد أطلق المجلس الثقافي البريطاني هذه الجائزة المرموقة في عامها الثامن للاحتفاء بالإنجازات المميزة لخريجي التعليم البريطاني الدوليين في كافة أنحاء العالم. 

إن جوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني متاحة للخريجين الذين يعيشون في أي مكان خارج المملكة المتحدة. ويُعد الفائزون والمرشحون النهائيون للجائزة قادة في مجالات دراستهم حيث استخدموا خبرتهم في الدراسة في إحدى جامعات المملكة المتحدة للمساهمة بشكل إيجابي في مجتمعاتهم وصناعاتهم وبلدانهم. وتحتفي جوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني بأثر التعليم العالي البريطاني وقيمته وترفع من المكانة الدولية لخريجي المملكة المتحدة وجامعاتهم السابقة. 

كما أن الجوائز متاحة للخريجين المقيمين حالياً في أي مكان خارج المملكة المتحدة، ممن درسوا سابقاً في المملكة المتحدة في إحدى المؤسسات المعتمدة رسمياً للدراسة على مستوى جامعي في المملكة المتحدة لمدة لا تقل عن فصل دراسي واحد أو نصف سنة، أو ممن مُنحوا مؤهلاً كاملاً بمستوى الدرجة الجامعية البريطانية (أو أعلى) من إحدى جامعات المملكة المتحدة من خلال مؤسسة محلية في الخارج خلال الـ 15 شهراً الماضية. 

تتوزع الجوائز في أربع فئات كالتالي:

  • جائزة العلوم والاستدامة تُكرم الخريجين الذي تميزوا في حياتهم المهنية وإنجازاتهم في عالم العلوم والاستدامة، والذين يمكنهم إثبات تأثير وحجم إنجازاتهم في مهنهم وما أبعد منها. ويمكن أن تشمل مجالات العمل: العمل  المناخي، والطاقة النظيفة، والطب، والمدن والمجتمعات المستدامة، والهندسة، والصناعة والإنشاءات. 
  • جائزة الثقافة والإبداع تُكرم الخريجين الذين شقوا طريقهم وصنعوا مساراً  مهنياً لأنفسهم في مجال الفنون والثقافة. نحن نبحث عن الأفراد الذين يمكنهم إثبات براعتهم وتأثيرهم وإبداعهم الفني. ويمكن أن تشمل مجالات العمل: الفنون، والتصميم، والإعلام، والفيديو ، والتلفزيون، والموسيقى، والمدونون (بلوغر)، ومدونو الفيديو، وأصحاب المحتوى على يوتيوب (يوتيوبر) والعلوم الإنسانية. 
  • جائزة العمل الاجتماعي تُكرّم الخريجين الذين قدموا مساهمة والتزاماً استثنائيين لإحداث تغيير إيجابي في المجتمع وتحسين حياة الآخرين. ويمكن أن تشمل مجالات العمل: الحد من أوجه عدم المساواة، والفقر  والجوع؛ التعليم والارتقاء بالمهارات؛ السلام والعدالة. 
  • جائزة الأعمال والابتكار تُكرّم الخريجين النشطين في المبادرة والمساهمة بالأفكار الجديدة المبتكرة أو المبدعة، أو الحلول أو فرص العمل ذات إمكانية النمو. ويمكن أن تشمل مجالات العمل: الريادة وإدارة الأعمال التجارية والتكنولوجيا.  

هل درست في المملكة المتحدة وحققت بعدها نجاحاً استثنائياً؟ إذا كنت كذلك، تقدم للفوز بإحدى الجوائز!

ما الذي يُميّز الطلب الجيد عن غيره؟ تعرف على أهم نصائحنا لتقديم الطلبات عبر موقعنا لجوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني.

فيما يلي بعض مزايا الفوز بجائزة الخريجين المرموقة: 

  • إبراز ورفع مكانتك الدولية من خلال الإعلام العالمي والتغطية الرقمية
  • بناء شبكاتك المهنية وعلاقاتك في مجال العمل
  • الفوز بزيارة للتشبيك المهني إلى المملكة المتحدة
  • سينال كل فائز جائزة قدرها 3000 جنيه إسترليني لدعم تطورهم المهني

تواريخ مهمة

05 تشرين الأول 2021 فتح باب تقديم الطلبات رسمياً في الأردن
29 تشرين الأول 2021 لموعد النهائي لتلقي طلبات الترشيح هو الساعة 16:00 بتوقيت غرينتش
تشرين الثاني 2021 مرحلة التحكيم واختيار قائمة المتأهلين والفائزين بجوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني
كانون الثاني 2022 حفل الإعلان عن الفائزين بالجوائز    
آذار حتى آب 2022 الإعلان عن المتأهلين لجوائز الخريجين على المستوى العالمي والاحتفال بالفائزين عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي
أيلول 2022 الإعلان عن جوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني العالمية

لقد أقفِل باب تقديم الطلبات لجوائز خريجي التعليم البريطاني.

سيتم الإعلان عن المرشحين النهائيين والفائزين بجوائز الخريجين على المستوى العالمي في عام 2022 والاحتفاء بهم في حملة رقمية من شأنها رفع مكانتهم والتعريف بقصتهم ونجاحهم. ويحظى الفائزون بالجائزة بفرصة رفع مكانتهم الدولية، وتوسيع شبكة علاقاتهم المهنية، وتعزيز مسيرتهم المهنية من خلال زيارة للتشبيك المهني إلى المملكة المتحدة (خاضعة للوضع العالمي لجائحة كوفيد-19).

تعرّف على المرشحين النهائيين لهذا العام

في خضمّ منافسة شديدة من مجموعة متنوعة من المتقدمين الأقوياء ، برز هؤلاء المرشحون. اكتشف ما الذي يجعل قصتهم فريدة من نوعها.

مجموعة صور الخريجين المتأهلين للتصفيات النهائية إضافة إلى الشعار الرسمي للمسابقة
© مصدر الصورة: الخرّيجون المتأهلون للتصفيات النهائية في الأردن للسنة 2021.

جائزة العلوم والاستدامة

ضرار عبد القادر، جامعة مانشستر/ جامعة هيدرسفيلد

ضرار أستاذ سريري مشارك ومستشار العلاج الدوائي في الأمراض المعدية. وهو رائد أعمال في مجال التعليم وباحث نشيط ومتحدث في مجال سلامة المرضى والأمراض المُعدية. ضرار رائد في مجال مكافحة انتشار جائحة كوفيد-19 على الصعيدين الوطني والإقليمي خلال العامين الماضيين. كان لعمله دور فعال في تفنيد المعلومات الخاطئة عن جائحة كوفيد-19، مما أدى إلى إنقاذ حياة الآلاف من المرضى.

بشرى زلوم، جامعة برمنجهام سيتي البريطانية 

بشرى زلوم، أول معمارية أردنية تحمل درجة الدكتوراه في الاستدامة الاجتماعية للمناطق الحضرية من جامعة برمنجهام سيتي البريطانية منذ عام 2015. وهي أول سيدة تشغل منصب رئيس قسم الهندسة المعمارية في جامعة الزرقاء، ومن المعروف أنها تستخدم كل قدراتها لإلهام الطلاب وإفادة الإنسانية.

مهند عودة، جامعة كوينز بلفاست البريطانية

بعد حصوله على الدكتوراة في الصيدلة السريرية أسس مهند عودة المركز الريادي لادارة الرعاية العلاجية بالجامعة الهاشمية في الاردن ، و كاستاذ مساعد في كلية الصيدلة ساهم بانجاح مسار الصيدلة الادارية و الصناعية فيها. و هو مستشار استراتيجي لجامعة كوينز بلفاست البريطانية و السفير العالمي لجمعية الصيادلة البريطانية و عضو في عدد كبير من اللجان الوطنية في الاردن.

المؤيد السيد، جامعة سري

الدكتور المؤيد السيد هو مدير مركز المياه والبيئة في الجمعية العلمية الملكية في الأردن. حصل على شهادة الدكتوراة من جامعة سري عام 2014. وكجزء من بحث الدكتوراة، قام الدكتور السيد بتطوير نموذج لإعادة استخدام المياه والزراعة الحضرية على مستوى المنزل، وقد تم تتجير هذا النموذج وترويجه على مستوى واسع حيث يستفيد منه حالياً ما يزيد عن 20000 شخص.

جائزة الثقافة والإبداع

إدلينا جويس عيسى، جامعة الفنون الإبداعية

إديلينا مصمصة أزياء أردنية ومؤسس ماركة الملابس النسائيه " إديلينا جويس".
لقد أعدت إديلينا منهاج تصميم الأزياء للتدريب في معهد عمان للتصميم ، ومنذ عام 2017 ألقت العديد من المحاضرات ووجهت أكثر من 200 طموح ليصبح مصمم أزياء بالاعتماد على تعليمها في بريطانيا وخبرتها بالعمل لدى العلامات التجارية الشهيرة مثل فيكتوريا بيكهام.

طارق الريماوي، جامعة جنوب ويلز/ جامعة لوفبرا

طارق الريماوي هو مخرج واكاديمي والحائز على العديد من الجوائز الدولية من خلال افلامه التحريكية. أكمل مرحلة الماجستير في تخصص الافلام التحريكية عام 2010 من جامعة جنوب ويلز، ثم أنهى رسالة الدكتوراة في عام 2014 من جامعة لوفبرا. قام طارق بتأسيس قسم التحريك والوسائط المتعددة في جامعة البترا عام 2016.

صفاء جهامة، جامعة بولتون

صفاء جهامة، أستاذ مساعد في جامعة العلوم التطبيقية الخاصة ، حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة بولتون - المملكة المتحدة ، 2019 ، تتعلق أبحاثها بالتصميم الإسلامي المرئي ، مثل الخط العربي ، والرسوم التوضيحية ، والزخارف ، وتدرس الفن الإسلامي ، والتصميم الجرافيكي ، هي محكم في مجلات سكوبس.

جائزة العمل الاجتماعي

ليث الفلاح، كينغز كوليدج لندن

ليث الفلاح طبيب نفسي مهتم بتحسين مستوى الخدمات النفسية و التوعية بها من خلال عدة منصات إعلامية في الوطن العربي, أتم ليث دراسة الطب العام واختصاص الطب النفسي في الأردن وانتقل بعدها للملكة المتحدة عبر منحة تشيفنينج للحصول على درجة الماجستير و التدريب السريري في الصحة النفسية للأطفال و المراهقين.

لين الجعبري، جامعة ليفربول

مستوحاة من قيم النظام الصحي الوطني في بريطانيا وتعليم ممنهج قائم على أدلة طبية عن أفضل الممارسات في طب الأسنان ، تعمل الدكتورة لين مع منظمات غير ربحية في الأردن للحد من عدم المساواة في خدمات الرعاية الصحية للأسنان للمجتمعات الفقيرة والمناطق النائية.  كما تسعى لتعزيز الوعي من خلال استهداف أطفال المدارس وتكرار تجارب حملات صحة الفم الناجحة التي داراتها أنظمة الصحة البريطانية.

جائزة الأعمال والابتكار

أنال أبو عمار، جامعة ساوثهامبتون / جامعة كارديف متروبوليتان

أنال هي قائدة في مجال علم البيانات، ولديها خبرة في العمل مع العديد من الشركات الدولية في دمج الذكاء الاصطناعي في التعليم وتقنيات اللغة العربية. مع سجل ثلاث ورقات وثلاث براءات اختراع، حصلت أنال على درجة الماجستير في الذكاء الاصطناعي من جامعة ساوثهامبتون من خلال منحة استحقتها من مؤسسة سعيد فونديشن.

نور أبو جبارة، جامعة وارويك

مسؤولة الريادة والابتكار في حاضنة أمنية لريادة الأعمال TheTank ومؤسسة منصة SHEE، مهندسة صناعية وحاصلة على درجة الماجستير في الابتكار والريادة من جامعة ووريك وحاصلة على منحة سعيد فاونديشين. هي مدربة وموجهة للعديد من الشركات الناشئة. عملت كمستشارة وباحثة  في مجال الابتكار وريادة الأعمال وتمكين المرأة الاقتصادي، والاستشارات الادارية.

تابع أيضاً

روابط خارجية