What is the “Young Mediterranean Voices” programme?

Young Mediterranean Voices is the EU-funded Programme for intercultural dialogue and debate, aimed to promote the culture of dialogue amongst youth and creates a shared understanding with their peers across the Mediterranean. 

Who are our partners?

Young Mediterranean Voices is coordinated by the Anna Lindh Foundation, co-founded by the British Council, and developed in partnership with the Centre for Mediterranean Integration (CMI), Friends of Europe, the World Leadership Alliance-Club de Madrid, MEDAC and Soliya. The programme is funded by the European Commission and co-funded by the Government of Finland, the British Council and World Bank Group.

What are the programme’s objectives?

The Young Mediterranean Voices programme aims to provide young women and men with a unique opportunity to:

  • develop 21st century skills such as critical thinking and cultural intelligence through debate training and leadership;
  • facilitate constructive online engagement and participate in intercultural debate groups through virtual exchanges;
  • securing a dialogue platform for youth to discuss constructive suggestions for current challenges with experienced leaders, mentors and partner institutions working across the globe 

What are the Southern Mediterranean countries included?

Eight countries from the South Mediterranean region have been implementing the Young Mediterranean Voices programme since 2018: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine and Tunisia.

How is the programme implemented?

The Young Mediterranean Voices programme is implemented through a year-long cycle of activities. If you have already heard about the Young Mediterranean Voices programme, you have also probably come across terms such as ‘Debate Hub’, ‘Master Facilitator’, ‘Peer Facilitator.’ The below explains the cycle of activities and all these terms in detail.

Phase one: Identification and training of Debate Hubs and facilitators

Identification of “Debate Hubs” (November – January) 

“Debate Hubs” are identified via an open call to the Youth training and development centres and education Institutions. An organisational capacity building scheme is offered to youth-led “Debate Hubs”, to strengthen their capacity in areas such as budget management, reporting and child protection.

Master Facilitation Training (January – March)

A regional ‘Master Facilitation Training’ is organised for Master Facilitators, to hone their skills in adjudicating, judging, and hub management, the ultimate aim being the reinforcement of quality assurance across the programme. 

National Debate Training (March – June)

A national debate training is organised in each participating country to provide the necessary theory, skill and practice of debate and its formats. The training is delivered by the Master Facilitators. Through these debates, potential Peer Facilitators are identified.

Phase two: Debaters training

Kick-off meeting (June – July)

The Kick-off meeting is held once the “Debate Hubs” and “Peer Facilitators” are identified. This event will gather “Hub Leads”, “Master Facilitators”, “Peer Facilitators”. They will get to know each other, learn more about the programme and develop a timeline of activities for the ongoing year.

Cascade Training (July – August)

With the support of the “Peer Facilitators”, the cascade training will be delivered within the selected “Debate Hubs”. Through this process, young debaters are trained forming new debate clubs. Debate Hubs will gain capacity to run a programme of local debate activities and contribute to promoting a culture of debate at the local community level.

Phase three: Debate hub competitions

Intra-hub competitions (August – September)

As part of the training cycle of the debaters, competitions are held after the Cascade Training. At this point, the competitions engage teams from debate clubs that belong to the same hub.

Inter-hub Competitions (August – September)

Following the intra-hub competitions, competitions are held between teams from debate clubs that belong to two or more “Debate Hubs”.

Phase four: National Debate Forum

Following the inter- and intra-hub competitions, a National Debate Forum takes place at a country level. Teams from the different “Debate Hubs” take part in this three-day event during which they debate motions that are directly linked to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) themes. The National Debate Forum will be an opportunity to dialogue with experienced leaders, mentors and partner institutions through the Policy Dialogue activity.

Influence: National Advisory Group

The National Advisory Group will bring together experienced leaders, mentors and partner institutions. It will offer debaters the opportunity to transform the content generated through debates to an action-oriented outcome and positively contribute with recommendations to addressed issues and challenges at both a national and regional levels.

 

In parallel: Regional Leadership Seminar

The “Regional Leadership Seminar” takes place on a yearly basis and represents the anchor event in an annual pedagogical programme with alumni. The aim of this Seminar is to demonstrate skills of leadership, public speaking, as well as a clear ability to progress the cascade programme’s activity in their local community.

Add-on: Strategic Comms Labs

The strategic comms lab focused on the development of youth-led creative communication initiatives to challenge counter narratives in the digital world. Participants learn enhanced digital literacy and media skills. This is commanded by social media leading companies. 

Grand finale: Euro-Med Debate and Dialogue Forum

A culmination of the National Debate Forums (NDFs), the “Great Debate” is a central annual event for the Young Mediterranean Voices programme. The forum involves champions of the NDFs. It also serves as a major platform for dialogue and visibility. Debate motions are built both on the main trends analyzed within the grass-root debates, and SDGs themes.

External links

ما هو برنامج "صوت شباب المتوسط"؟ 

برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط هو برنامج ممول من الاتحاد الأوروبي للحوار بين الثقافات، ويهدف إلى تعزيز ثقافة الحوار بين الشباب وخلق تفاهم مشترك مع أقرانهم عبر أوروبا ومنطقة جنوب البحر الأبيض المتوسط 

من هم شركاؤنا؟

تتولّى مؤسسة آنا ليند تنسيق برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط، ويشارك في تأسيسه المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، وتم تطويره بالشراكة مع مركز التكامل المتوسطي وأصدقاء أوروبا وتحالف قيادة العالم- نادي مدريد وأكاديمية البحر الأبيض المتوسط للدراسات الدبلوماسية ومنظمة سوليا. ويتم تمويل البرنامج من قبل المفوضية الأوروبية وبتمويل مشترك من الحكومة الفنلندية والمجلس الثقافي البريطاني ومجموعة البنك الدولي

ما هي أهداف البرنامج؟

يهدف برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط إلى تزويد الشباب والشابات بفرصة لـ:

  • تطوير مهارات القرن الحادي والعشرين مثل التفكير النقدي والذكاء الثقافي من خلال التدريب على المناظرات والحوار ؛
  • تسهيل المشاركة البناءة عبر الإنترنت والمشاركة في مجموعات الحوارات بين الثقافات من خلال التبادلات الافتراضية ؛
  • توفير منصة حوار للشباب لمناقشة مقترحات بناءة للتحديات الحالية مع ذوي الخبرة والمؤسسات الشريكة

ما هي دول جنوب البحر الأبيض المتوسط المشاركة في البرنامج؟

تقوم ثماني دول من منطقة جنوب البحر الأبيض المتوسط بتفعيل برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط منذ عام 2018 وهي: الجزائر ومصر والأردن ولبنان وليبيا والمغرب وفلسطين وتونس.

كيف يتم تنفيذ البرنامج؟

يتم تنفيذ برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط من خلال دورة أنشطة مدتها عام كامل. إذا كنت قد سمعت بالفعل عن برنامج صوت شباب المتوسط ، فمن المحتمل أن تكون قد صادفتك أيضًا مصطلحات مثل " منتدى المناظرة " و "الميسر الرئيسي" و "الميسر النظير". توضح أدناه دورة الأنشطة وكل هذه المصطلحات بالتفصيل.

المرحلة الأولى: تحديد وتدريب منتديات المناظرة والميسرين

تحديد " منتديات المناظرة" (تشرين الثاني – كانون الثاني)

يتم تحديد " منتديات المناظرة " من خلال دعوة مفتوحة لمنظمات المجتمع المدني (CSOs) والمؤسسات التعليمية. يتم تقديم برنامج بناء القدرات التنظيمية "لمنتديات  المناظرة" التي يقودها الشباب لتعزيز قدراتهم في مجالات مثل إدارة الميزانية وإعداد التقارير المالية وحماية الطفل.

تدريب الميسرين الرئيسيين (كانون الثاني – آذار)

يتم تنظيم "تدريب الميسرين الرئيسيين" الإقليمي للميسرين الرئيسيين لصقل مهاراتهم في التحكيم وإدارة منتديات المناظرة ، والهدف الأساسي هو تعزيز ضمان الجودة عبر البرنامج.

التدريب الوطني للمناظرات (آذار – حزيران)

يتم تنظيم تدريب وطني للمناظرات في كل دولة مشاركة لتوفير النظرية والمهارة والممارسة اللازمة للمناظرة وأشكالها. يتم تقديم  التدريب من قبل الميسرين الرئيسيين. من خلال هذا التدريب، يتم تحديد الميسرين النظراء الجدد.

المرحلة الثانية: تدريب المناظرين

الاجتماع الافتتاحي (حزيران – تموز)

يُعقد الاجتماع الافتتاحي إثر تحديد "منتديات المناظرة" و "الميسرين النظراء". يجمع هذا الحدث  "ممثلي المنتديات " و "الميسرين الرئيسيين" و "الميسرين النظراء" ليتعرفوا على بعضهم البعض، ويعرفوا المزيد عن البرنامج ويضعوا جدولًا زمنيًا للأنشطة للعام الجاري.

التدريب التسلسلي (تموز – آب)

بدعم من "الميسرين النظراء" ، يتم تقديم التدريب التسلسلي في "منتديات المناظرة" التي تم اختيارها ضمن البرنامج. من خلال هذه العملية، يتم تدريب المتناظرين الشباب على تشكيل نوادي مناظرة جديدة. ستكتسب نوادي المناظرة القدرة على إدارة برنامج لأنشطة المناظرات المحلية والمساهمة في تعزيز ثقافة المناظرة على مستوى المجتمع المحلي.

المرحلة الثالثة: مسابقات منتدى المناظرات

مسابقات داخل المركز (آب – أيلول)

كجزء من الدورة التدريبية للمتناظرين ، تقام المسابقات بعد التدريب التسلسلي. في هذه المرحلة، يشارك في المسابقات فرقًا من نوادي المناظرة التي تنتمي إلى نفس المنتدى.

المسابقات بين المنتديات (آب – أيلول)

بعد المسابقات داخل المنديات، تقام المسابقات بين فرق من نوادي المناظرة التي تنتمي إلى منتديات  مناظرة مختلفة  

المرحلة الرابعة: المنتدى الوطني للمناظرات

بعد المسابقات بين المنتديات وداخلها ، يتم عقد المنتدى الوطني للمناظرات على المستوى الوطني . تشارك فرق من "منتديات  المناظرات" المختلفة في هذا الحدث الذي يستمر لمدة ثلاثة أيام والذي يمثل فرصة لمناقشة مقولات ذات صلة مباشرة بأهداف التنمية المستدامة و للحوار مع ذوي الخبرة والمؤسسات الشريكة.

التأثير: المجموعة الاستشارية الوطنية

ستجمع المجموعة الاستشارية الوطنية بين ذوي الخبرة والمؤسسات الشريكة وستوفر للمتناظرين فرصة لتحويل المحتوى الناتج عن المناظرات إلى نتيجة عملية و للمساهمة الإيجابية بتوصيات لمعالجة القضايا والتحديات على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي.

بالتوازي: الندوة الإقليمية

تعقد "الندوة الإقليمية" سنويا وتمثل الحدث الرئيسي في برنامج تعليمي سنوي مع خريجي البرنامج. الهدف من هذه الندوة هو إظهار مهارات الحوار ، والخطابة ، بالإضافة إلى القدرة الواضحة على تقدم نشاط البرنامج التسلسلي  في مجتمعهم المحلي.

الوظيفة الإضافية: مختبرات الاتصالات

بهدف مختبر الاتصالات إلى تطوير مبادرات تواصل إبداعية يقودها الشباب في العالم الرقمي. يتعلم المشاركون محو الأمية الرقمية والمهارات الإعلامية المحسنة ، ويستمعون إلى الشركات الرائدة في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حول كيفية تعزيز التواصل عبر الإنترنت.

المنتدى الأورومتوسطي للمناظرة

تتويجا لمنتديات المناظرة الوطنية  ، "المناظرة الكبرى" هي حدث سنوي مركزي لبرنامج صوت شباب المتوسط. يضم المنتدى أبطال المنتديات الوطنية، كما أنها بمثابة منصة رئيسية للحوار. تُبنى مقولات المناظرات على كل من الاتجاهات الرئيسية التي تم تحليلها في المناظرات على مدار العام ومواضيع الأهداف التنمية المستدامة.

روابط خارجية